AWSL Steering Committee

Guiding the Journey from WASC to AWSL

The AWSL Steering Committee celebrated its year of service and the end of the 2014-2015 school year. This group of 10 high school students, lead by two advisers, guided the organization through its transition from the Washington Association of Student Councils (WASC) to today's Association of Washington Student Leaders. High School principals on the AWSP Student Leadership Comittee also served as partners in this transition. The successor to this committee is the AWSL Executive Committee, which every year recruits a new group of high school juniors to serve a two year term - more information.

2014-2015 AWSL Steering Committee



Abby Bock

Mara Childs

Gabe Grabowski

Baxter Hershman

Carl Mason

Sam Najmolhoda

Madaleine Osmun

Sierra Price

Nakea Ridders

Justin Tran


Leanne Donley

Susan Fortin


Central Washington

State Board of Education Representative, West

Inland Empire

State Board of Education Representative, West

Southwest Washington

Puget Sound

State Board of Education Representative, East

Northwest Washington

Urban Schools - King County

Puget Sound


AWSL Adviser

AWSL Director


East Valley High School (Yakima)

Shorecrest High School

Central Valley High School

Gig Harbor High School

Heritage High School

Sumner High School

Mt. Spokane High School

Marysville Pilchuck High School

Federal Way High School

Henry Foss High School


Central Valley High School